Paying It Forward and 52 in 52

Being a member of Ravelry, I learned about a year long knit-along. So as part of my New Year’s resolution I decided to join the group “52 in 52 2011“. I’m up for the challenge!

The hat I knit for my brother

The only rule is that one must knit, crochet, spin, or weave at least 52 projects between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2011. That averages to one per week. A simple and easy task… Right? Well, I have already completed my first project, which was a hat that I knit for my brother. He found the pattern in one of my pattern books. It’s got 5 sets of footprints that go around the hat. He chose it because he has 5 children and the 5 footprints will represent them! I thought that was cute! You can find this pattern in Trond Anfinnsen’s book “Hat Heads”.

That said… it’s already January 14th, so I decided on a small project to knit as my 2nd item of the year. Those small projects give you time to work on bigger things! That brings us to the Pay it Forward. A friend of mine had posted this on his facebook page. It’s a Pay It Forward for Creative People. So I signed up immediately! Sounded like lots of fun. In turn I had to post the Pay it Forward to my facebook page as well. I then promised to send something handmade to the first 5 people who left a comment to my post. They must in turn, promise to post in the same manner and send something they made to the first 5 posters on their status. It must be handmade by you, and it must be sent to your 5 people sometime in 2011. Funny thing is I’ve only gotten 4 replies as of today. That leaves one more spot for someone to snag something handmade from me! 😉 Friend me on facebook and it could be you!

Bringing us back to the 2nd item that I’m knitting for my 52 in 52 weeks. It’s a beverage cozie! It will be my gift to my friend Dele on facebook. She was the first to respond to my Pay it Forward. I should have it finished this afternoon and will be shipping it out to her. I’m still trying to decide on what to make for the other participants. The giving and creating from the heart is the best part of all!

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

